Electronics Recycling: Manufacturers

The South Carolina Manufacturer Responsibility and Consumer Convenience Information Technology Equipment Collection and Recovery Act

e-cycle logo transparent
  • Passed in 2010 that banned the disposal of specific electronics in solid waste landfills (Section 48-60-90); effective July 1, 2011. Given that, the legislation established requirements for landfill owners and operators in regards to keeping covered computer and television devices from being disposed of in the state's landfills.
  • Revised on March 4, 2014, to add more specific requirements and recovery obligations for computer monitor and television manufacturers. Section 48-60-20 outlines registration and recovery requirements for manufacturers of these devices. The requirements are listed below.
  • These new requirements are in addition to existing prohibitions on disposal of electronics in Class 1 and Class 2 landfills in South Carolina.
  • Revisions were passed to the Act during the 2021-2022 Legislative Session. These requirements modified recycling obligations for television and computer monitor manufacturers to a “convenience standard”, updates definitions, updates requirements for recoverers and collectors of covered devices, and pushes the sunset date to December 31, 2029.

To read the full Act, select 'Electronics Legislation' under 'Downloads & Links'.

Download a complete list of manufacturers that have registered.

2020 Requirements for Manufacturers of Covered Television, Monitor, Computer and Printing Devices

Devices Manufactured Registration Fees* Take-back Requirements
Consumer Computer or Printing Devices $3,500 individual fee or $20,000 collective fee from Representative Organization Provide no-charge recovery program, to include mail-back, collection sites or collection events.
Consumer Televisions or Consumer Monitors $3,500 individual fee or $20,000 collective fee from Representative Organization Individual recycling obligation = 80 percent by weight of SC sales OR obligation = Recovery of devices from local governments with population share equal to total RO market share.

 

* A manufacturer of multiple types of devices is required to pay only one annual registration fee.

2022 Requirements for Manufacturers of Covered Television, Monitor, Computer and Printing Devices

Due to revisions to the Act from H. 4775, the requirements for television and computer monitor manufacturers will be modified after December 31, 2022.

Devices Manufactured Registration Fees* Take-back Requirements
Consumer Computer or Printing Devices $3,500 individual fee Provide no-charge recovery program, to include mail-back, collection sites or collection events.
Consumer Televisions or Consumer Monitors $3,500 individual fee Individually or collectively fund a manufacturer electronic waste program plan that would fund transportation and recycling of electronic devices recovered from counties that opt-in to the program.

 

Download the Covered Electronic Devices Manufacturer Registration Form and email completed forms to e-register@dhec.sc.gov.

Manufacturers must register no later than February 15, 2020, and will be billed beginning March 1, 2020. Invoices will include payment options and you will have 30 days to submit your fees to the S.C. Department of Health and Environmental Control. Registration requirements do not apply to a manufacturer that sold 100 or fewer devices in South Carolina during the prior year.

For the purposes of this statute:

  • "Covered computer device" means a desktop, laptop, tablet or notebook computer or a printing device marketed and intended for use by a consumer.
  • "Covered computer monitor device" means an electronic device that is a cathode-ray tube or flat panel display primarily intended to display information from a computer and is used by a consumer.
  • "Covered television device" means a device that contains a cathode-ray tube or flat panel screen the size of which is greater than four inches when measured diagonally and is intended to receive video programming via broadcast, cable, satellite, Internet, or other mode of video transmission or to receive video from surveillance or other similar cameras marketed and intended for use by a consumer primarily for personal purposes.

Contact

Brian Norman or Sallie Williams at e-register@dhec.sc.gov or at 1-800-768-7348.

Tags

Recycling