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Immunization Frequently asked Questions from School Nurses 2020-2021 

1. Do students in virtual school need a certificate on file? Yes, all students enrolled or
admitted in public or private schools in South Carolina must have a valid immunization 
certificate on file. 
2. Do students who participate in online learning need to meet all the yearly
immunization requirements? Yes, all students who are enrolled or admitted in public or 
private schools in South Carolina must meet currently published immunization 
requirements.  
3. Do students enrolled in online learning or virtual school need to be included in the
45-day report data? Yes, all students enrolled in public or private schools in South Carolina 
must be included in the 45-day report. 
4. How do we exclude students from online learning if we do not have an updated
certificate on file and the 30 day grace period has expired? School administrators will 
need to ensure that they have an up to date school roster and have immunization status of 
their students available for DHEC review upon request. School administrators must be 
compliant with the law. It is necessary that if a student does not comply with having a valid 
certificate or exemption on file, that the school administrator discontinue access to the 
online learning environment until a valid certificate or exemption is on file for the student.
5. Does the 30 day exemption apply to an online student? Due to COVID-19
and associated potential vaccine access issues, all students may be granted a 30-day grace 
period to receive all required vaccines only for the 2020-21 school year. This includes in 
person and virtual learning. 
6. What do we do with immunization certificates that come from a provider office
marked incorrectly? This should be handled on a case by case basis. If you are a school 
nurse who is covered under the MOA with DHEC to issue certificates, you may consider 
issuing another certificate. Otherwise, the parent must acquire an accurate, up to 
date certificate from their provider.  
7. Can schools issue more than one 30-day exemption due to COVID19? The grace
period is for 30 days only in order to assist with vaccine access issues. 
8. Will there be an extended grace period for those who cannot get
appointments and need immunizations? The Immunization Division is not considering 
extensions beyond the initial 30-day grace period as this should be sufficient to obtain 
access to vaccines.  
9. If a child is excluded due to medical reasons beyond the 30-day grace period, are
they still required to have an updated certificate? Yes, all children in school or childcare 
must have a valid immunization certificate or exemption on file within 30 days of the first 
day of school. Students excluded beyond the 30-day grace period, must have a valid 
certificate or exemption on file upon returning to school or childcare. See section 44-29-180, 
of the South Carolina Code of laws for additional guidance. 
10. Should a school/childcare administrator exclude a child from a school/childcare
who does not have a valid up to date certificate or exemption on file? Yes, according 
to DHEC Regulation 61-8, no child should be admitted into school or childcare without a 
valid immunization certificate or exemption on file.   

https://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t44c029.php
https://www.scdhec.gov/sites/default/files/Library/Regulations/R.61-8.pdf

