South Carolina Mining Council

Origin and Composition

The Mining Council, established with the enactment of Section 48-21-20 of the South Carolina Code of Laws 1976, as amended, resides in the office of the Governor and acts as an advisory body to the Governor in considering issues relating to mining. The Council considers appeals on decisions made by the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) regarding the enforcement of the Mining Act.

The Council is composed of 11 members and represents diverse interests and responsibilities that provide a wide range of perspectives regarding mining issues. The member positions are:

  • The State Geologist;
  • The Secretary of Commerce or his/her Designee;
  • Three (3) members, appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate, as representatives of mining industries;
  • Three (3) members, appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate, as representatives of non-governmental conservation interests;
  • Two (2) members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate, as representatives of the Department of Health and Environmental Control;
  • One (1) member, appointed by the Governor, as his official representative to the Interstate Mining Compact Commission.


The Mining Council's mission is to improve the quality of life of the citizens of South Carolina by promoting the conservation and wise use of mineral resources within the state.


  1. To advise the Governor, in accordance with his responsibilities under Article IV, 48-21-10 regarding:
    1. Issues relating to mining.
    2. Effects of mining operations on the environment.
    3. Land reclamation.
    4. The law as it relates to the Interstate Mining Compact Commission.
    5. Communication of related matters.
    6. Cooperation with the federal government.
    7. Consultation with other Interstate Mining Compact Commission members.
    8. Improvement in efficiency of mining operations.
    9. Recommendations relating to the safeguarding of access to resources.
  2. To protect the public including:
    1. Adjudication of a disputed decision made by the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Bureau of Land and Waste Management, Division of Mining and Solid Waste Management.
    2. Review existing and proposed regulations promulgated under the South Carolina Mining Act.
  3. To facilitate the transfer of mining-related information to the public, state and federal agencies, and other interested parties, and develop tools to complement education.

Mining Council Members as of July 2023

Council Member Council Position Affiliation Term Expiration
William Jackson Chairman Department of Commerce Co-terminus with Gov.
C. Scott Howard
S. C. Geologic Survey
Member State Geologist Co-terminus with Office
Heath Hanna Vice Chairman Mining Industry 06/30/2028
VACANT Member Governors Rep., Interstate Mining Compact Commission Co-terminus with Gov.
David G. Johnson Member
Mining Industry

Rebecca M. Collins Member Mining Industry 06/30/2018
David J. Wielicki Member Non-Government
Jeff Rikard Member Non-Government Conservation 06/30/2025
Robert Hodges Member SC DHEC 06/30/2025
Elizabeth Basil Member SC DHEC 06/30/2028
Correspondence to the Council can be sent to the Clerk of the Council, Denise Crawford at, 803-898-3309, or 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201.

Appeals Committee
William Jackson ۰ David Johnson ۰ David Wielicki

Appeals Committee Alternates
Rebecca Collins ۰ Heath Hanna ۰ Jeff Rikard

Interstate Mining Compact Commission

The enabling legislation creating the Mining Council established South Carolina as a member of the Interstate Mining Compact Commission (IMCC). The IMCC, a multi-state governmental agency/organization, represents the natural resource interests of its member states. First envisioned in 1964, the Commission came into existence in 1970 with the entry of its first four states. Since that time, thirteen (13) additional states have enacted legislation bringing them into the Compact and the Commission has established its headquarters in the northern Virginia suburbs of Washington, DC. The states are officially represented by their Governors who serve as Commissioners. The Commission operates through several committees composed of duly appointed representatives of the Governors from their respective departments of natural resources or environmental protection.