Promoting Interoperability Programs: Meaningful Use

The  Promoting Interoperability Programs, formerly known as the Electronic Health Records (EHR) Incentive Programs, and more commonly known as Meaningful Use, was implemented by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) to encourage healthcare providers and organizations to implement and use health care information technology.

Meaningful Use includes public health reporting options. DHEC offers the following programs for eligible clinicians, hospitals, and critical access hospitals:

Healthcare Provider Type Eligible Clinicians Eligible Hospitals
Electronic Reportable Lab Results N/A Yes
SIMON - Immunization Registry Yes Yes
Syndromic Surveillance Yes* Yes
Electronic Case Reporting Yes Yes
Cancer Registry Yes N/A

* Syndromic Surveillance is only open to eligible providers in urgent care settings.

Additional Information

For more information on CMS's Promoting Interoperability Programs for eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals and Quality Payment Program for eligible clinicians, please follow these links:

Related Topics


Facilities Health