Where to Apply

In the coming months, six newly-permitted MS4 programs will begin implementation of the Construction Site Runoff Control and Post-Construction Stormwater Management Minimum Control Measures (MCMs) required in their permits. These MCMs require that each MS4 develop, implement, and enforce a program to reduce pollutants in stormwater runoff from land-disturbing activities. Each program must include provisions for the review of Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plans (SWPPPs) for construction activities occurring within their jurisdiction. On the dates noted below, SWPPPs and applications for construction activities must be submitted to the MS4s and receive approval from them prior to DHEC's issuance of coverage under the NPDES Construction General Permit. For projects located in Beaufort County, requests for NPDES Construction permit coverage and Coastal Zone Consistency (CZC) Certification can be submitted to DHEC concurrently with application to the MS4 should this be necessary to expedite permitting times.

See a general flowchart for this process.

The schedule for implementation for each of these MS4s is:

MS4 Date
Beaufort County (Unincorporated Areas)* July 1, 2017
Town of Bluffton* July 1, 2017
Town of Hilton Head Island* July 1, 2017
City of Clemson September 1, 2017
Clemson University September 1, 2017
Lancaster County (North of SC 5 and extending east to North Carolina state line) December 31, 2017

Find addresses and contact information for all MS4 programs when you click on the map below.

* CZC Determinations are required for projects located within these jurisdictions.

Click a county on the map to download the contact information

Stormwater MapJasper CountyBeaufort CountyHampton CountyAllendale CountyColleton CountyCharleston CountyDorchester CountyBerkeleyGeorgetown CountyBarnwell CountyBamberg CountyOrangeburg CountyCalhoun CountyWilliamsburg CountyHorry CountyMarion CountyFlorence CountyAiken CountyClarendon CountySumter CountyLee CountyDarlington CountyDillon CountyMarlboro CountyChesterfield CountyKershaw CountyLancaster CountyRichland CountyLexington CountyEdgefield CountyMcCormick CountySaluda CountyGreenwood CountyAbbeville CountyLaurens CountyNewberry CountyFairfield CountyChester CountyAnderson CountyOconee CountyPickens CountyGreenville CountySpartanburgUnion CountyCherokee CountyYork County


Environment Stormwater