Groundwater Capacity Use Areas - Lowcountry

Capacity Use Program: Lowcountry

On July 24, 1981, the South Carolina Water Resources Commission established and declared the whole of Jasper County, Beaufort County, and Colleton County as the Lowcountry Capacity Use Area (Lowcountry Area). Hampton County was added on June 10, 2008. The Lowcountry Area was the second of the four currently declared Capacity Use Areas in South Carolina.

Initial Groundwater Management Plan

The plan will guide the initial groundwater management strategy and provide direction for future groundwater management goals by evaluating, as data become available, the hydrologic, environmental, social, and economic impacts of groundwater withdrawals at various rates on the long-term sustainable levels for the aquifers of the Lowcountry Area. Sustainable development meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their needs and requirements.

The plan is available here.

Coordinator Contact

Steven Martin at (803) 898-3563